As a working mother, I find myself simplifying life more and more. I’m up at 5:30 and out the door before 7, when I’m not running late. I have myself and a toddler to get dressed and ready. JD is great to help with dressing and breakfast. Sure, I’d like to say that I have lunches prepared and the french press ready the night before. I’d love to say that I pick out my outfit and have it pressed and ready to go complete with shoes, undergarments and accessories also the night before. I’d love to say that mornings are pleasant, easy and allow for quiet time. The are rushed and sometimes chaotic and almost always late. This all from a person who was once always 15 minutes, if not more, early to work. Sigh.

What I can say is that I have some products that I’ve come to rely on for a simplified morning. I’d have these on my “If I were stranded on a deserted island, what items would I want with me” list.

1. Tweezerman Tweezers are by far the best. I have 2 pair, one in the car and one in the bathroom. You ladies would agree when I say the light in the car is the best light ever! 2. Great Lash Mascara by Maybelline – I love this mascara and have used it for years. 3. OPI Avoplex Nail & Cuticle Replenishing Oil – I’ve been using this for about 6 weeks and can say it does make a huge difference in the health of my nails. They are stronger and happier AND longer! Twice a day is recommended. 4. Mac Lipstick in Tanarama –  yes it looks weird, but when paired with 5. Mac Lipliner in Chesnut is is warm with enough hint of pearl. It can look darker or lighter depending on the amount of liner. If I didn’t use any other product in a morning, I’d use these two because a girl just can’t go without her lipstick! 6. Bare Minerals – I’ve been using this since last summer. The jury is still out  on whether or not I really love it. It allows enough coverage without feeling like I have on make-up. In fact, I never wore makeup all over until last summer. Having a baby wrecks your complexion and I had to take drastic measures and wear makcup! 7. Garnier Smoothing Milk – perfect for my fine hair – not heavy at all. 8. Croc Turbo Flat Iron – wonderful! Heats to 480 degrees, reaches full temp quickly, auto turn-off and just plain incredible.

What are your morning routing must haves?

