In searching for cooking with friends and menu planning I stumbled upon Org Junkie. She had this great page of resrouces. I ran across simplifysupper.com.

Part of simplifying for me includes menu planning. It is crucial for a smooth cooking week to have planned the weekend before and done some prep work. I realized last night when I was on the third recipe how much I really really love being in the kitchen. Garner loves it too. She’s finally to an age I imagined when we looked at our house the first time. She sits on her sweet perch at the island watching mama cook. I can imagine one day she’ll be chatting with me, or helping. šŸ™‚

The website is easy to use. You can register for free and plan your own menu. It creates a grocery list that you can print, email or send to your phone. The recipes are quick, easy an affordable. They could use some fresh ingredients, and I’ll add those in as I plan.

Three recipes I made were:

Chicken Dressing Casserole – a little gooey but tasty. JD will enjoy

Asparagus Quiche – 2nd time to make this. Delicious. I’d love to vary this with different cheeses and ingredients. The first time I made it I added an extra egg – don’t do this, a deep pie crust won’t even hold the 4. You could, however cut down on the cream to make it more of a frittata than quiche. Add ham…yum.

Tater Tot Casserole for JD. – this one is in the frig ready to cook. JD would prefer to eat every meal with red meat and potatoes. Poor guy doesn’t get that in our house. I failed to put the french fried onions on top, rather, mixed them in with the sour cream and cheese. And I used what I had on hand – Cream of Chicken instead of Cream of Mushroom.

Last week I cooked the Asparagus Quiche and Waldorf Salad. I’d add ingredients to both to beef up the taste, but overall good.

On the list for this week – Chicken Orzo Salad, Chicken Enchiladas, Spaghetti, and some kind of Shrimp.

I understand why casseroles were so popular in the 70s. Because they are easy, good and economical. I don’t think I could eat one ever night but once or twice a week works. They are entirely too fattening! I’ll have to convert some of these recipes to a healthier option.

Try simplifysuppers.com if you’re struggling with dinner ideas or menu planning. It’s a great place to start.

