You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 23, 2011.

With a snow day comes a lot of time at home. And I love that right now. I must be nesting. Along with cooking, cleaning, laundry, tv time, story time, naps, finger painting, CandyLand, coloring and lots of snuggling….I’ve done a little crafting:

I made a pair of these sweet little hangers for a baby shower I attended today. I wish I’d taken photos at the shower because Hillary and Tracy did a wonderful job with the theme. It was Beatrix Potter and the food table was old wooden crates with cabbage leaves and lots of fresh veggies. Other cabbages were used on the beverage table instead of flowers. So creative and beautiful.

I was inspired by this hanger:

That was with a baby gift I received for Garner a few years ago. It usually has a beautiful day gown hanging on it that Eleanor gave Garner. We use that sweet dress as decor….

I hand embroidered the letter (based on a font I printed out) with a backstitch and then used a running stitch along the edge of the hanger. I pinked the edge and added a little ribbon…so simple…so sweet.

The mother-to-be loved them! And I loved making them. Those will definitely be new baby gifts from here on out.

I also did a little smocking…

That will be Garner’s Valentine’s dress. It’s an Ellen McCarn plate called Strawberries & Flowers. I’m keeping it simple. I can do a geometric fairly fast. Ha. Fast. That’s during naptime or after bedtime if I have an energy left.

I finally decided to hang the Ikea shelf with Ribba Frames:

Now I  just have to get some photos printed for them and redo that awful bulletin board and hang it under the ledge.

And then did a little reorg and took inventory (not literally) of what I have left of my EH Paper stash.

I get a little sad thinking it will be gone one day. All the hours we put into each and every design. It brings me joy every time I personalize and package a gift using this paper. That was a fun time in my life.

On the agenda for the rest of the weekend:

1. Cook ahead a bit for the week.
2. Finish designing the ECS Digital Highpoint Magazine that has to be done by Monday at 7:30am.
3. Rest.
4. Do something on my 40 before 40 list.
5. Catch up on my Bible reading.

Happy weekend.

