You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 30, 2011.

What a better way to bring a little sunshine on a gray day when you have a cold than surfing Valentine’s Day sweet happy things.

Sweet crochet heart garland
from Molly Dunham of A Foothill Home Companion.

handmade card ideas. the pennant card would be sweet with hearts too.
from Martha Stewart

possible idea for Garner’s class Valentine’s happies?
from Martha Stewart


heart mobile from Pottery Barn a while back. Would be super simple to make.

Add an Image
these butterfly garland from this neck of the woods could also be done with heart shapes
and reminded me of this:


framed butterfly punch framed by ali edwards
and inspired this one by Ali:


I created a butterfly shadowbox just like Ali’s using a Martha Stewart punch and a shadow box from Hobby Lobby for Garner’s room. I used all 72 or something designs we created when I did eh paper. I’m thinking of redoing mine with a white background and framed like Ali’s but with white frames. All of those crafts would have to be super simple and quick with the exception of the crochet and sewing projects. I have to have a mix of “can be completed in one short sitting” with “ongoing for several weeks” projects. Paper hearts glued on to paper vs. smocked dresses.

We find out at 8:30am on the 7th if this little baby is a girl or a boy. Hopefully I’ll be over this cold and ready to hit some of those 40 before 40 projects full steam. This is the best part of pregnancy right now and I want to get some stuff done!

Don’t think I’ll be crafting much today but I most likely will be prepping for my 8 chicken pot pies I need to make for our meal swap on Friday. I’m looking forward to the dishes on the list this week and am thankful to my co-worker for coming up with the meal swap idea…and I work with some ladies who can COOK!
…………………………………………

Weekly recap (something I’d like to remember to do on a regular basis so if I ever do turn my blog into a book I’ll have some things to remember other than what I wanted to craft or cook.

1. Garner has had a little cold too but has been very concerned about Mamma and has been sure to give me cough drops when needed, lots of snuggles, tucked me in and told me, “I come back and check on you Mamma.”  Melts me.

2. Baked 2 bundt cakes from Dorie Greenspan’s book, “Baking from my Home to Yours” called Nutty Chocolately Swirly Sour Cream Pound Cake . I’ll give this one an A for sure. It had orange zest and cinnamon swirl with chocolate. It was so dense and moist – YUM.

not the best pic with the iPhone.

3. Enjoyed great conversation and dinner with the Bakers and Ivys. Thank you for your hospitality. Always such a pleasure to hang out with those two ladies. Kiddos had a blast playing dress up and running through the house like little crazy people.

4. Auction at my place of employment was a  success. Those community building events are always so nice because you get to see people you don’t very often.

5. Finally broke down and bought some maternity clothes. I just couldn’t go on any longer. Now I have 2 shirts, 2 pairs of jeans (one long and one reg), a pair of nice slacks, a pencil skirt, some leggings, a cami, and a cute pink cardigan.

6. Garner can just about dress herself. Is completely potty trained. Wants to help cook, clean, work,  and anything else mamma and daddy are doing. She’s going to be a GREAT big sister.

 

